I was once lost upon these streets,

Each step speaking of confusion,

My eyes searching their red brick history

For my resting destination;

Each day they imprinted on my soles

Until rituals were common and set,

The wall’s etchings familiar friends,

History these streets can’t forget.

For a moment my feet numbered four,

So close they tripped each other,

But upon Gower they split in two

And these stones ran slick for my lover.

I have seen seasons come and go,

Verdant trees grow thick and thin,

The squares an ever shifting rainbow

And the city’s coats their corporal twin.

These worn stones are now my familiar,

Minute changes are my focal,

It’s these minute shocks to my heart

That tell me that I am now Local.

 

Leave a Reply

